stupid comments

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by lillieblake, May 11, 2008.

1. lillieblake

lillieblake New Member

DO any of you make stupid irrelevant comments and can blame them on brain fog? I say dumb things, like telling someone my dog was born in 1980. This happens frequently on a daily basis and I am afraid if I get a job I will say unnecessary things and lose the job before I have to quit due to a flare. I have a master's degree and feel like an idiot at times.
  2. landra

landra New Member

Once asked a friend the same question within 5 minutes in one conversation. I also have a master's degree.

But more often I just cannot think of the word I need, or i use the wrong one.

What is going on when you say these things? Are you with new people? Could you be nervous and blurting out something, anything to carry on a converstaion?

Being afrid of saying something stupid may also cause you stress, and some people blurt out things under stress.

3. ladybird1

ladybird1 New Member

I notice this happens when there are new people around.
    I don't know if it is fibro fog or a case of nervousness.
  4. Catseye

Catseye Member

I used to keep interrupting people because if I didn't say or ask what I wanted to right then, I'd forget it while I was waiting for the other person to "pause". That looks pretty stupid. I have finally been able to stop doing that. My memory's coming back.

Hey, be happy that we had to have FM or CFS in order to be stupid - some people don't have an excuse.

5. PVLady

PVLady New Member

Well I will say, you are right to be concerned. Everyone likes to think people are nice and might think you are funny at a new job but sadly, that is not the case.

People are often cruel and you can wind up discrediting yourself. You might see a doctor for a evaluation and make sure it is not more than brain fog.