Stupid question about coinfections

Discussion in 'Lyme Disease Archives' started by pepper, May 9, 2006.

1. pepper

pepper New Member

I am new to learning about Lyme disease and have a dumb question. I am certain that I have coinfections, ie. Mycoplasma and Ehrlicosis, especially after seeing that DVD of Dr. Burrascano's speech.

The question: Can you have a coinfection without having Lyme or can these infections exist on their own?

Thanks to anyone who might know.
    Pepper
  2. pepper

pepper New Member

Perhaps I have the coinfections then and not Lyme. Hmm.

Pepper
  3. pepper

pepper New Member

From seeing Dr. Burrascano's speech and the reading I have done, I suspect that I have Ehrlicia and Mycoplasma. Hence, my diagnosis of CFS.

When I was on Doxycycline a couple of years ago, trying the low dose ABX to treat CFS, I herxed badly but had some really good results. If my liver hadn't gone wonky, I would have continued but my doctor made me quit because of the high liver enzymes.

So now I am wondering if I do have Lyme. Perhaps I just have the coinfections. It has been so many years that the tests might not be able to pick up anything.

Pepper
  4. ajp

ajp New Member

Hi,

I was just diagnosed on Wednesday but the doctor who I saw said Lyme is a clinical diagnosis and that the tests are still very unreliable. He didn't order one for me. He said based on my symptoms and his experience treating Lyme patients, that I definitely had Lyme and he would start treatment.
    Just something to think about. Have you see a Lyme doctor?

Mindy
  5. pepper

pepper New Member

No, I have technically not seen a LLD. However, my CFS doctor does believe in Lyme and is treating me naturally for it. He thinks that I am "full of bugs". He says that I cannot even think of ABX with my liver being so toxic.

However, if these natural treatments don't help (and I am having trouble with them at the moment), I will have to travel to Toronto or B.C. to see a LLD.