sudden onset of leg/foot cramps after epidurals - FM symptom?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia and ME & Chronic Fatigue Syndrome' started by waterlady, Sep 8, 2004.

1. waterlady

waterlady New Member

Hi - I'm new to the message boards but have read articles and used products from this site for several years. Have had FM since 1993 and have never had these problems before. Just wondering if others have had the leg and foot cramps start up after any specific event or treatment?

I searched the messages and looked at several threads about leg cramps which helped ease my mind a bit, knowing that this symptom is definitely out there.

In Jan'04 I threw my back out, had MRI and dx bulging discs and degen. disc disease but no nerve impingement, and no sciatica. In Feb'04 I had an electrical PT treatment on the piriformis muscle (runs from hip to base of spine) to try to make it spasm and release in order to loosen it. That backfired royally and was too strong and I immediately thereafter had strong sciatica running down the left leg along with constant tingling in left foot and calf. After further PT and exercises etc. did not resolve it, I had an epidural steroid injection in mid July. One week later, upon awakening and starting to stretch my legs, both feet starting cramping and getting "stuck" in whatever direction I moved. Not extremely painful but very odd. The cramping got better after I stood up and starting walking around.

I started taking homeopathic quinine tablets and also increased my magnesium and potassium. The cramping didn't get worse, but also didn't go away.