Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by chris350, Sep 9, 2009.

1. chris350

chris350 New Member

I posted a topic of being really depressed. I have been down but never so down that I could not function. Here are my meds

Ritalyn - to offset opiod drowsiness
    combipatch - estrogen
    I take a multi vitamin, Fish oil, and B-12 shots monthly. I have been on Elavil for over 20years. The other meds I have been on at least 10 years. Elmiron is for interstitial cycstitis.

I am making an appt with a Psychyatrist today. I feel my gp has done all he can do.

If anyone knows of anything that might help, I would appreciate the information.

Thanks, and painfree to all.
  2. gapsych

gapsych New Member

I am not a doctor so don't have any specific suggestions, but you are being smart making an appointment with a Psychiatrist.

There is no generic cure for depression, however changing to a psychiatrist is a wise move. Also ask if your psychiatrist has worked with or at least knowledgeable about our DD.

How long until you see the psychiatrist?

Do you live with someone or have someone who can check in on you? If you get to feeling worse call 911 or a mental health hotline where someone will be there to listen and give you some advice.

Sounds like you are on the right track.

I've been there. It's horrific. But there is a light at the end of the tunnel.

Take care and keep us updated.

gap[This Message was Edited on 09/09/2009]
  3. mbofov

mbofov Active Member

I think you need to take charge of your health, read the fine print about each of the meds you are taking, and don't rely solely on your doctor for information. Many docs are not knowledgable about side effects (actual effects) of drugs, and many dismiss the notion of side effects. Often they prescribe another drug to mask side of effects of the first one.

I tried Elavil once and it made me feel horrible. That drug alone would make me depressed.