Surgery and pain - can you help?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by mslettie, May 6, 2006.

1. mslettie

mslettie New Member

Hi, I'm new to message boards and immunesupport.com. However, I am motivated to reach out because I just had a complicated surgery for ovarian cysts, endemetriosis, adhesions and uterine fibroids. I have been in the hospital 4 days. Out yesterday. Have no pain management that works. I tried Morphine, Vicodin, Tylenol #3 w/ Codeine, and Ultram while in the hospital - all to no avail. Side affects were all over the board. Not taking any pain meds now. Having a hard time. Hungover from anesthesia, Fibro/CMP flares and CFS crashing. I have headaches, can't sleep, and have a lot of pain from surgery/incision. Also, hormonal imbalances from the surgery is providing me with sudden night sweats and emotional moodswings. Ob/gyn/surgeon sent me home with oxycontin-which I can't take. Open to suggestions, please.
    [This Message was Edited on 05/07/2006]
    [This Message was Edited on 05/07/2006]
  2. mrsjethro

mrsjethro New Member

Could you take the vicodin and maybe it just wasn't enough? I have to take lorcet 10mg and another half of one to get any relief. I can't possibly imagine not taking anything at all though. You must really be in pain!! Did you have a hysterectomy? I had one about 6 to 8 years ago. I ask that because of the night sweats and moodswings. They get better. Thay put me on a low dose hormone replacement right after surgery (I had a complete hyst.) and it took a few adjustments. I had to have the highest dose but it will take a little while for the hormones to level out if this is your case. I hit a major depression during mine because I don't have children and that's the one thing I thought I couldn't live without. It's normal and it's difficult. It's a tough situation, but you are stronger than you think. Can you give a little more info? I can tell you how things worked for me if our situations are similar...