swollen glands

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by dsames, Mar 28, 2003.

1. dsames

dsames New Member

I saw my dr. 2 weeks ago for a sinus infection. At that time in the process of the examination, he mentioned my glands in the neck were swollen. I thought there was something going on there as well, because they had been burning.

I just finished 2 weeks of ceclor (antibiotic), the sinus infection seems to be gone, however my neck is still burning. Obviously, I will need to be rechecked by the dr, but my question is:

Do people with fibro tend to be susceptible to gland infections and is this another symptom Ihave to be aware of.

My dr. is a real sweetie, and we have developed a good rapport. He is open to suggestions but I am sure not aware of everything that goes on with Fibro.

Thanks for your help.
    Shirley
  2. 2girls

2girls New Member

I'm no expert but I do not believe FMSers are necessarily more prone to gland infections. Our glands feel swollen and sore often yet there is no inflammation. I often feel my glands are swollen, including the ones in my mouth yet there is no evidence of infection.

2girls
  3. Flibble

Flibble New Member

I get the swollen glands all the time. It does not mean an infection in my case all the time. I think our immune systems are so hyper vigilant that it just happens to us alot. My theory! Feel better. Flibble
  4. dsames

dsames New Member

Thanks for your reply, interesting theory that our glands may be super hyper. Makes sense, because some times they hurt (in the same day) and sometimes not.
  5. healing

healing New Member

I have had swollen, enlarged glands in my neck for as long as I can remember. Sometimes they're tender; sometimes they are not. I just always assumed they were part of this mysterious thing that is going on with my body....
  6. PatPalmer

PatPalmer New Member

My daughter had severe swollen glands, and tested positive with mycoplasma pneumoniae.