Talking to kids

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by FMwife, Jan 15, 2003.

1. FMwife

FMwife New Member

My husband was just diagnosed with FM. We have 3 kids 14,11,8. Is this something we tell them about? I am reading a lot about it and it seems so vague to describe to someone, esp. children. They do know that something has been "not right" with dad for about 3 months now. We got the "official" diagnosis yesterday. Does anyone have any experiences with this?
  2. joannie1

joannie1 New Member

This is a really tuff thing I have found. I have been fighting this for almost three years now. Our boys will be 12 and 7 in February and our girl is 10. With us it was very hard in the beginning. One, we didn't know what was happening and I was shufled from Doctor to Doctor. The children were extremely effected from this too. They feared i was dying to be exact. I explained to them that it was just pain and the pain made Mommy very tired. BUT I was not dying. That i would be here for a very very long time to get on their nerves and make sure they were loved and protected. I think each and everyone one of them had their own way of dealing with this DD too. Our Daughter spent the first 6 months fearing to sleep and I would have to hold her and assure her I would be here tomorrow when she opened those pretty little eyes. Because i was not dying. Our oldest son felt he would let his grades slip and nobody would notice because Mom always made sure they were okay but now that she is sick all the time well, she wouldn't do anything. He was very wrong and got a big surprise when i showed up at school right before the bell rang to get assignments together and he spent three straight days doing nothing but school work. Needless to say his grades have never fallen again. And our youngest well, he still has a lot of trouble understanding I think. he is a clown and has to make everybody laugh at all costs. When i am really in a flare he is at his worst. he tells people th