Tanning bed...Feel better or make things worse???

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by SherylD, Dec 9, 2005.

1. SherylD

SherylD Guest

I love the sun and going tanning. It is really relaxing to me. And we have a pool so it is nice to hang out by.

I would go tan because I always think that the intense heat would be good for my stiff muscles.

But it has me wondering if when I go to the tanning bed if it is making me feel worse instead of better.

I know sometimes when I tan I itch all over for a few days and it makes me wonder if it is a senstitive thing the bulbs.

What do you think??

SherylD
  2. Solaris_Starr

Solaris_Starr New Member

Hi Shery,

I've been using tanning beds for about 10 yrs now. They have been a God Send to me. I love the way it relaxes me and sooths my aches and pains, not to mention it gives me a nice color masking what I'm sure would be a lovely hue of "green". LOL

I've been using the same tanning salon for so many yrs now it feels like a second home to me. I go about twice a week.
    I know people say it's not good for you but.......at this point with all the hell I live through with this DD, I'll take what ever little happiness and feel good I can. It's the only time I feel almost normal.

Hugs,
    Sandy

3. renae1979

renae1979 New Member

My doctor even told me that using a tanning bed can be very benefical for fibro sufferers because the heat helps our sore muscles, etc.

I don't do it frequently, but it is very relaxing and nice when I do go.
  4. JLH

JLH New Member

I have always heard that the heat helps arthritis sufferers, so I would think that they would help us, too.

I, personally, will not use them due to the dangerous rays. I have systemic lupus also and have this photosensitivity issue and can't get in the suns rays either.

5. EgyptStarr

EgyptStarr New Member