Telling your boss....

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by cbella, Dec 10, 2005.

1. cbella

cbella New Member

I'm a nurse and I work with almost an entire staff of RN's. I have had FM and I think CFS for almost 2years.(dx 1 year ago.)And it is getting worse. I'm thinking of letting my manager know,so that she will understand if I have to take a day off once in awhile. Last week I called in sick one day and just made up a story of having a bug. Nobody in our dept ever calls in unless they're really sick, so everyone was asking me if "I was better from my stomach bug". I'm not a very good liar, and I hate that when someone would ask me. But my other problem is nurses are known to not have much tolerance or understanding with people who have chronic pain. So, I'm wondering if it's best to continue to keep it to myself. And how would the hospital feel if they knew I was taking pain medicine every day. (only Ultram). I would like some of you to give me your opinions. Thanks cbella
  2. lenasvn

lenasvn New Member

Does your manager 'believe" in FM/ CFS? If so, telling her is a good idea. If she doesn't maybe someone else have an idea what to say. I heard some people have problems with staff after telling about their FM/CFS. It would really relieve some of the pressure to have a manager that knows and understands. I hope it will work out.
  3. cbella

cbella New Member

I'm not sure what she thinks of FM/CFS. :)
  4. cbella

cbella New Member

You're very lucky to have a boss like that. I'm just not sure how my manager feels. I know she doesn't like it when someone calls in sick. Especially if it's often, which I haven't done that yet. cb
  5. PVLady

PVLady New Member

I absolutely would not tell anyone you have fibro/cfs.

We all like to feel the employer will be sympathetic, unfortunately, these days everything is the almighty "buck" not caring about people.