TENS unit for pain relief

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by sarahfemme, Mar 30, 2003.

1. sarahfemme

sarahfemme New Member

Hey, y'all, I'm a newbie here and will do a proper intro soon. I just wanted to post a quick question bfore I go off to work: Does anyone else use a TENS (trancutaneous electrical nerve stimulation) unit for pain relief? Has it worked for you? I use one for pain in my back, shoulders, and neck. When I get home from work (I'm a librarian), my neck hurts so much that I'm almost crying. I've found that the TENS unit combined with Ultram provides great respite. I'm considering even taking the unit to work, though I'll look odd with the electrodes and wires coming up from out of the back of my shirt. Anyone's stories of TENS use will be appreciated.
  2. Maggieann

Maggieann New Member

I first used a tens machine 5 years ago for arthritis in my spine, it was great at first I wore it most of the time.
    But after a while i found it painful to walk even move and i couldn't get out of bed in the mornings, so i went into hospital and had an epidural in my spine of steroids and painkillers. This is just wearing off now and the back pain is coming back so i am using the tens machine again.
    I haven't tried it for the fibromyalgia,
    because as you say i would need one all over !!!
    but you never know, someone might come up with something.
    Wishing you painfree days
    Maggieann
    x
  3. Harmony

Harmony New Member

I also use a TENS Unit for my low back pain and it helps quite a bit. Relieving some of my back pain helps my overall fibro pain as well. I can't take pain medication so I am so glad to have this. Wish we could have a "whole" body one. Hope it helps you!

Love, Harmony
  4. SrayGrrl

SrayGrrl New Member

Hi!