Terrible itching

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by MsEMouse, Sep 20, 2011.

1. MsEMouse

MsEMouse New Member

I am very new to all of this and am still working on finding the right meds for me. For the last few weeks I have had this horrible itching and burning sensation, worse at night then any other time. it feels like bugs crawling on my arms and biting me there is NOTHING there. slight redness but that is it.
    Is this common?

dr. says it is low level pain and there is nothing he can to do help.

I think I am going crazy. I used to be a very strong person now I cry at the drop of a hat.

Sounds stupid but I feel very alone in all of this

2. ILoveGreen

ILoveGreen New Member

You could be having what might be the beginning of an allergic reaction, if not to your meds to something else. I would call a pharmacist if I were you; they know meds better than ANY doctor. In the meantime, can you take Benadryl to help relieve the itching so you can sleep?

Also, you might have some sort of an infection and should probably get checked out just to be sure.

Good luck!
  3. sleepyinlalaland

sleepyinlalaland New Member

Wondering if you are on medication for thyroid.

My father suffered for months from a fierce itch which I did my best to research because his doctor was not helpful. His description was similar to yours; burning itch which was worse at night and felt like something crawling on him. At one point his doctor diagnosed him with scabies and he went through that annoying treatment. He is 89, so the odds of him having contacted scabies werre really low. I began to worry he had one of those dreadful conditions that I don't know whether to believe in or not (morgellons or "bird mites"?).