The Psycho-Neuro-Endocrine-Immune system - CFS, the cause, the solution

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by PhdSurvivor, Feb 27, 2010.

1. PhdSurvivor

PhdSurvivor New Member

Aside from being both a former (and sometimes present) CFS patient, and cancer survivor, I am also a scientist and entrepreneur in the Nutraceutical and Biotechnology fields.

After working very closely with Russian scientists and researchers, the obvious has been made more obvious yet I'm surprised why the "experts" such as Dr. Cheney have not understood and approached these concepts earlier.

I shall quote an excerpt from this research article on the Neuro-Endocrine-Immune system's relationship to the HPA axis

"The neuroendocrine and immune systems communicate bidirectionally. The neuro-immune-endocrine interface is mediated by cytokines acting as auto/paracrine or endocrine factors regulating pituitary development, cell proliferation, hormone secretion, and feedback control of the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal (HPA) axis"

"THE NERVOUS, ENDOCRINE, and immune systems are anatomically and functionally interconnected. These organ systems both express and respond to a large number of common regulatory molecules including steroids, neuropeptides, cytokines, and neurotransmitters, which provide the molecular basis for integrated, bidirectionally coordinated neuroendocrine-immune responses to homeostasis disturbances induced by stress, inflammation, or infection (1, 2, 3). HPA axis activation, which is under primary hypothalamic control by CRH (4), is critical for maintaining physiological homeostasis under these circumstances. "