Threelac Advise needed

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by foxglove9922, Apr 19, 2007.

  1. foxglove9922

    foxglove9922 New Member

    I am very, very allergic to dairy. Does Threelac come from a dairy product? Where is the best place to purchase it from? Does it act mostly as a yeast cleanser or a probiotic.

    I did a google search and got some conflicting information.

    Thanks a bunch,

    Foxglove
  2. foxglove9922

    foxglove9922 New Member

  3. Slayadragon

    Slayadragon New Member

    Hi Foxglove,

    I am very allergic to dairy but did not experience any noticable problems when I took this product.

    Best, Lisa
  4. Fmandy

    Fmandy New Member

    I found this on a website that sells Threelac:


    "I'm Lactose Intolerant Can I still Take Threelac?"

    "Lactic acid producing bacteria should not be confused with lactose which is a milk sugar which can cause intolerance in a small proportion of the population deficient in the enzyme lactase. Some studies have shown that Lactic Acid Producing bacteria can actually help break down dairy products into simple sugars."

    I also did a search on this site and found lots of information. There is some controversy over one of the bacteria in Threelac. It may be resolved by now, I don't know.

    I am not going to take it until I hear about this bacteria, whether it is safe or not.

    Regards,

    Andy
  5. virtuoso

    virtuoso New Member

    Hi foxglove,

    I've been taking Threelac, but I've also recently started taking a little kefir, and I seem to be doing okay on both.

    When my doctor reccommended it to me he knew that I was on a strict GFCF diet, so I imagine that he would not have reccommended it to me if it would have come from a dairy product.

    I get it from our local heath food store.

    Best wishes,

    Toma
  6. pw7575

    pw7575 New Member

    I am taking Threelac and I am vegan. I looked it up online before I bought it to see if it was from dairy. Places selling it that I found said that it was NOT from dairy and some places marked it saying it was vegan.

    So I bought it and have had not problems with it. I have been taking it for about a month now.

    Take Care,
    Pam
  7. foxglove9922

    foxglove9922 New Member

    Thanks a bunch guys for the information. Since none is available in my area, is there a better place on the net to buy it?

    Foxglove
  8. Fmandy

    Fmandy New Member

    Threelac has a bacteria in it that is found in the intestines of humans and other mammals. The Japanese have found a way to extract it and make it safe.

    This bacteria in Threelac is Enterococcus Faecalis. Faec is Latin for feces. This bacteria is one of the main 3 or 4 ingredients in Threelac.

    I just cannot stand the thoughts of this crap. (pun intended) lol :)

    Cheers,

    Andy