tips for dental work?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Genome, Sep 26, 2011.

1. Genome

Genome New Member

I'm wondering if anyone has advice about how to cope with dental work. I have fibromyalgia and had my first filling several years ago. The result was intense pain for 3 or 4 weeks, which was finally alleviated some by craniosacral therapy. I am due to have 2 fillings next month and am very nervous.

My dentist seemed surprised that I'd experienced such problems. I asked if I should use a muscle relaxer or something this time around and she said sure, if I want to have my doctor prescribe on that's fine. I've never used a muscle relaxer before and don't know if this is appropriate or if there's something else that might be more useful.

My last filling was in my upper row of teeth but the bulk of my pain was actually in the lower row, as if the pain were primarily a result of pressure applied by the dentist on my lower mouth while trying to reach the filling.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!!
  2. Yucca13

Yucca13 Member

I'm a 'senior citizen' who has had to have a lot of dental work done lately. My bottom teeth looked ok from the outside, but were demineralizing and decaying inside. Other dentists I went to didn't tell me about the severity of the problem so the whole thing snuck up on me. I'm sure it has a lot to do with dry mouth contributed to by medications.

I had a number of crowns done this summer and with the treatment, a lot of Lidocaine to numb the areas being worked on.

I had a very strange, strong reaction to the numbing agent. Two days after treatment, I started vomitting severely and it lasted for 8 hours. The first time I thought it must have been something I ate. When it happened the second time, I realized that it had to be the numbing agent. I told the doctor and they had never heard of that reaction. I've had Lidocaine in the past but not such a large amount.