To Laura C on Topamax

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Tibbiecow, Apr 2, 2003.

1. Tibbiecow

Tibbiecow New Member

Laura,
    I have been on Topamax to prevent migraines for almost two months. Let me know how I can be of help regarding this medication, its uses, and its side effects. I tried to research it thoroughly before I decided to take it.
    Tibbie
  2. LauraC

LauraC New Member

Thanks for responding Tibbie. I am worried about the possibility of forgetfulness. I am a high school math teacher and worry that I might be embarrassed by not being able to explain something. Do you know anything about that?
  3. klutzo

klutzo New Member

I am interested in trying Topamax, since I could not tolerate Neurontin, and Topamax is supposed to cause dramatic weight loss,which I need.
    I have been afraid to try it because of the chance of kidney stones and the high risk of glaucoma.
    What does your doctor say about these risks? Are you having regular eye exams a lot more often to make sure glaucoma is detected early?
  4. Tibbiecow

Tibbiecow New Member