TO THOSE OF YOU ON XANAX OR KLONOPIN

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by gongee, Apr 28, 2006.

1. gongee

gongee New Member

I am very confused. I have been on Xanax since 2001 and have my dose has been slowly increased at my doctor's request to 3 mg a day since that time Now, out of the blue, she wants to swtich me to Klonopin. She says that even though I will be put on Klonopin, I will still have to take the Xanax also in the change over process. I have never had any problems with Xanax, but she thinks Klonopin will give me better results with my anxiety and panic, even though I am doing well now. I asked about Xanax XR, so I wouldn't have to do so much changing, but she never answered me. Can anyone out there, give me there own experiences if they have taken either one of these? In my opinion, if it isn't broke, don't fix it. But on the other hand, I'm not a doctor. Thanks for any input!!
  2. UnicornK

UnicornK New Member

I took it for anxiety and PTSD. I had to go off of it due to an addiction. I was addicted to narcotics, but they decided to take me off of everything like it. That included the klonopin, sonata, demerol, and beclofen.

I now take zanaflex and ultram for the pain. I'm not on anything for the anxiety and PTSD, but I'm thinking of asking my shrink to put me on something. A couple of nights ago I turned off my light and saw two men standing on my front porch, watching me. It was after 1 in the morning! Still scares me and I'm having trouble sleeping again.

Good luck!

God Bless.
  3. ilovecats94

ilovecats94 New Member

Gongee,
    I think my doctor feels if it ain't broke, don't fix it. I've been on Xanax .5 mg. 3 x a day since 1997. I haven't needed to go up on the dose.

I also started on Lortabs 10/500 mg. last May and I am very careful with those as I can see how one can become dependent on those faster than the Xanax, at least in my case.