To those with FMS-What happens when you go to a dentist

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by lovethesun, Jan 3, 2006.

1. lovethesun

lovethesun New Member

I am ready to go for the first time since I've been diagnosed with fibro.I'm on some heavy duty meds.Does the novacaine interfere with the meds? Thanks,Linda
  2. dixmstx

dixmstx New Member

As a nurse, I can tell you that there should not be a reaction from the meds because novacaine is what they call a "local" med in that it only effects the area where it is given. But if he plans to give you laughing gas make sure he knows what you are taking
  3. karatelady52

karatelady52 New Member

I mentioned this to Tandy, I think it was, yesterday. I find it so uncomfortable at the dentist.

First, I ask them not to tip my chair back so far. It makes my sinuses drain plus it gives me a headache.

My dentist knows how hard it is on me and if she has to do any type of procedure, she'll give me a valium (of course you have to get someone to drive you home) and it helps a lot with the pain during and after. You're a lot more relaxed.

Those are the things that have helped me out. If you don't want to ask for the valium, you could take one of your own pain pills right before you go.

Hope it goes okay for you,

Sandy

4. darude

darude New Member

In this post!!!! I have to have mercury and root canal teeth removed. Dreading it!
  5. pirtpain

pirtpain New Member

I don't think it would be a problem but don't let them give you any of the drug that makes your heart race, I can't remember the name. Can anyone remember the name??? I will post a ??.

PIRT
  6. Shannonsparkles

Shannonsparkles New Member

... my dental place offers ativan. You take it 20 minutes before you come in.

I find taking two l-theanine pills an hour before the visit helps.