Treatment for cognitive dysfunction

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by lindaschultz, Sep 3, 2003.

1. lindaschultz

lindaschultz Guest

My doctor is trying to find a medicine that will help with my cognitive dysfunction, I am a pharmacist and haven't worked in over 2 years. Zyprexa was wonderful but caused my triglyceride levels to quadruple so I couldn't stay on it. Next we tried Risperdal which has a side effect of myalgia and we already have enough of that. Next she is thinking of trying Geodon and I am going to ask her about a drug called Abilify. Has anyone out there found a medication that really improves their cognitive function? I'm starting to feel a little desperate, also I have had fibro since 1988 which was diagnosed by an orthopedic surgeon. Pretty impressive back then. Linda
  2. klutzo

klutzo New Member

The only thing I know that has really impressive results with cognitive dysfunction is Neurobiofeedback. More and more Neurologists are learning how to do it, so you might check around where you live and see if anyone is offering it.
    Medicine wise, I have been on this Board a long while, and Klonopin seems to be the most popular for helping brain function. There is a good article by Paul Cheney, M.D. in the library here that explains why Klonopin and drugs like it are effective. Of course, Klonopin is a benzodiazepiene, and thus offers addictive potential.
    That is why, if you have the money, I would go for Neurobiofeedback instead. (It is not covered by insurance.)
    My doctor believes fixing our neurotransmitter deficiencies will restore cognitive function, and he has me working up to high doses of 5-HTP and L-tyrosine with cofactors of L-lysine and vitamn B6 to help absorption. The product is called NeuroReplete. I cannot testify whether this works or not, as I am nowhere near the effective dose yet.