Troubled mother and daughter relationships

Discussion in 'General Health & Wellness' started by manchesterterrier, May 29, 2003.

1. manchesterterrier

manchesterterrier New Member

Has anyone else had an extended problem dealing with their daughter. My daughter is 21 and has put us through hell for 4 very long years. Now she is getting married and it has made thing worse.
  2. manchesterterrier

manchesterterrier New Member

Thanks Aqua Rose! I really appreciated your imput. No I have not been absive; but I have said somethings I reqret in the heat of the arguments. I am staying my distance and I do send cards to tell her she is loved. It is so hard to let our children fail.
  3. caroless

caroless New Member

Hi,

I am brand new to boards, and I couldn't believe it when I saw ur message. My daughter's coldness began as my illness progressed. In my case, for anything her husband percieved as not "perfect" about out family....I was appointed as the "bad guy"...
    Since my illness, my 28 year marriage has suffered terribly. I think this embarrasses her in front of her hubby. (as the validity of my illnes/pain was questioned!) I have responded to my husband's seemingly lack of regard, empathy, being there....etc. by just leaving cause I could not handle this. I mean for the night....not long term. I could not believe his response to...what has become...a chronic illness with a lot of pain which has been hell to get a doc to "deal" with. As a result, I have certainly not been myself!!