Trying to understand...new (fairly) to fibro.

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by amfibromom, Feb 18, 2007.

1. amfibromom

amfibromom New Member

Hi! I am fairly new to fibromyalgia and this is my first post. I was diagnosed in November 2006. My rheumy told me that I had this disease ever since I first saw him over 2 1/2 years ago at my last appointment a couple of weeks ago.

I am feeling really frustrated, because he knew this and did not feel it was that big of a deal because I have psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis as well. It IS a big deal to me, though. If I had known this all along I would have had a better understanding of why I have felt so bad and had been in so much pain over the last couple of years. It by far is a much bigger issue than the arthritis and psoriasis. He doesn't seem to want to offer much in the way of treatment. I am now trying to find a new rheumy that has a better understanding of this disease so that I can get better treatment. I take medication for the arthritis and psoriasis, but it doesn't do much for the fibromyalgia pain.

I am just feeling really desperate for help, understanding, and not made to feel like I am a hypochondriac for having constant pain. I am a stay at home Mom of two little girls (4 and 5) and it is really difficult sometimes just to make it through the day.

I had a hysterectomy 2 weeks before my 31st birthday (I am now 33) and everything thing started then. Before that, I hardly had any health problems. It is really frustrating.

Does anyone relate to this? Any tips on what works best and what doesn't? Is this a common thing to happen after having a hysterectomy. I have read it is a possibility, but has anyone experienced this after having one?
    [This Message was Edited on 02/18/2007]
  2. Susan07

Susan07 New Member

Some doctors just don't think it's worth addressing - so sad! I also believe many wait for us to diagnose ourselves so they don't put the thought into our heads.