Update, Madwolf,Thyroid T3 meds vs. high cortisol?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by DTJ6PPC, Jul 17, 2003.

1. DTJ6PPC

DTJ6PPC New Member

(Klutzo recommended that I run this by you.)

Hi, I am kind of new at this and I am just at the beginning of the treatment phases that I have read about on this messageboard.

I am now seeing a CFS doctor listed on this websites "PHYSICIAN REFERRAL LIST" , in the Los Angeles, Ca. area, and based upon my last visits lab results and symptoms, this doctor prescribed a thyroid T3, DHEA, PREGENOLONE, and DHA treatment.

The initial doses of 10mcg T3 and supplements greatly increased my fatigue levels and when stepped to 25 mcg with supplements I become almost non-functioning, arms feel like encased in cement. When the doctor prescribed the T3 meds. the only cautions were for possible hyperactivity. I seem to be experiencing the exact opposite effects.

Something I am very confused about is that my fasting 8am serum cortisol test levels prior to the T3 meds are way out of range. The doctor did not make any mention of this during the test result review and I did not pick up on it until I returned home and started reviewing the lab results in detail.

FREE CORTISOL= 3.4…………………….RANGE= .2 - 1.8
    CORTISOL SERUM TOTAL= 22………………….= 8- 19
    FREE CORTISOL PERCENTAGE= 15……………= 2.3- 9.5
    CORTICOSTEROID BINDING= 3.0………………= 2.3- 3.9
    T3 REVERSE= 243…………………………………=90- 350

Would not the T3 medication exaggerate the already high cortisol levels that my body is already producing and is this possibly why I am experiencing greater levels of fatigue instead of the predicted hyperactivity? It would seem that I fall more into the hyperthyroid/Cushings syndrome category indicated by the high cortisol levels, than the hypothyroid category being treated with T3.