Use of Proscar or Propecia and CFS

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by overit, Sep 1, 2002.

1. overit

overit New Member

I have been using Propecia for several years now. It has worked great in stopping my hair loss. Recently I was diagnosed with chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS). After eight months of suffering with CFS (lost my job, etc,) my doctor discovered that most of my hormones were at extrememly low levels. I am on hormone replacement therapy
    and am beginning to feel much better.

Since Propecia is a hormone inhibitor I wonder if it may have caused my illness. I would like to hear from anyone else who has had a similar experience. I believe that Propecia and Proscar are similar drugs.

2. overit

overit New Member

I have been using Propecia for several years now. It has worked great in stopping my hair loss. Recently I was diagnosed with chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS). After eight months of suffering with CFS (lost my job, etc,) my doctor discovered that most of my hormones were at extrememly low levels. I am on hormone replacement therapy
    and am beginning to feel much better.

Since Propecia is a hormone inhibitor I wonder if it may have caused my illness. I would like to hear from anyone else who has had a similar experience. I believe that Propecia and Proscar are similar drugs.

3. Shirl

Shirl New Member

Hi welcome to the board. I am not familiar with the two drugs you mention; Propacia and Proscar. But I am sure others here will be about to share their experience with you.

Just stopped to welcome you, and to direct you to some of our features on this site.

You can go to the top of the board where it says; Library, Home and Community and learn a lot about CFS, also the 'Store' link for supplements.

I have not heard of any direct link to anyone thing that causes CFS as of yet. I don't think anyone does know at this point.