Valtrex update

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by cbella, Sep 3, 2005.

1. cbella

cbella New Member

Hi there everybody!
    I've been on Valtrex for 2 weeks now and I'm not sure I'm getting the results I was hoping for. After being on it for the first week, I actually started taking less pain meds and last Saturday, I actually felt good enough to go on my tredmill for 17 minutes! I was really excited about the improvement and was telling all my family. Now another week into the therapy and I have as much pain as I did before I started. Granted, I may have made it worse with stress. My husband had gallbladder surgery yesterday and I was so worried for his outcome since I'm a nurse that works with outpatient surgery and knowing too much is harmful sometimes! He's fine and resting here at home, and I feel like I'm "taking it easy" but I'm a little discouraged about the pain level. Any encouraging words about Valtrex? :) Cbella
  2. bpmwriter

bpmwriter New Member

i'm on zoviraz (acyclovir), a very close relative of valtrex, and think i might drop the med from my arsenal. i'm uninsured and it's expensive ($125 a month) and it's very hard to tell whether it's having an effect. do you take it for epstein barr? i suppose the only way to know if it's helping is to get retested after a couple months to see if your titers come down.

eddie
  3. cbella

cbella New Member

because a doc that I found in Florida says it will relieve all the fm/cfs symptoms because my titers are high. The CMV and another one(can't think right now). My Epstein Barr wasn't that high. I've now taken it for three weeks and I'm afraid I don't feel any different. Has any one else had good results? I met someone that had good results and that is why I reseached and found this doc. I keep taking it and hoping it will kick in soon. My family doctor in my hometown said if this doesn't work he will put me on cymbalta.. any comments on this? cbella
  4. elsa

elsa New Member