Venting about my Doctor visit...

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Kimela, Jul 18, 2003.

1. Kimela

Kimela New Member

This is my first time to post and I am venting! I had a doctor's appt this week with a new rhemy that I waited four weeks to see. I made sure when I set up the appt that he treated patients with FMS and his nurse said that he did. When I got to the appt and started talking to the doctor and telling him about my 11 years of living with FMS. I told him that I was having the worst flare-up ever. He was asking me some really stupid questions (or at least I thought they were stupid) and finally I ask him if he treated patients with FMS and he said "What is there to treat, I just prescribe muscle relaxers and then they are fine". I was so mad when I left his office, I cried all of the way home. I feel so fustrated with doctors right now. I am now waiting to make an appt with another doctor who might be able to help me.
    Thanks for listening (or should I say reading!).
  2. klutzo

klutzo New Member

I also once called the office and talked to a nurse and was told a Rheumy treated FMS, but when I got there he refused to examine me and asked why I was taking up his time when Fibro patients live to an average age of 79 (dont know where he got that from, I've read all the research and not seen that). I told him that I was so sick I could not work, and he told me: "So what you can't work, you're a woman. Stay home". I was so mad I would have walked out, but I was sitting there in one of those stupid backless gowns. I had to pay $100 for this idiot to humiliate me. If that happened now, I would refuse to pay and threaten them with the local News channel consumer lawyer and Small Claims Court if they tried to bill me. I would not take it lying down anymore.
    I believe in karma, and these people will have a loved one come down with this illness. I have already seen it happen in one case that I know of.