vicodin "hostage"

Discussion in 'General Health & Wellness' started by maeve10, May 11, 2010.

1. maeve10

maeve10 New Member

I'm 76 and in terrific pain in my shoulder and arm. Yesterday at 3PM I took one 5-500 vicodin pill. This morning at 7:15AM I took another because I hadn't slept all night with the pain. Is it OK to take two a day for a couple of days? I'm so afraid of getting "hooked" on it. Thanks.
  2. JLH

JLH New Member

First of all, I want to say how sorry I am that you are in such terrific pain. Did you hurt your shoulder and arm somehow? .... or is it something like arthritis hurting?

I am not a medical doctor, so I can't really tell you that "yes, it is OK," but I will tell you what I have taken on my own personal experience.

I have been prescribed Lortab 10-500 for my severe back pain. Lortab and Vicodin are pretty much the same thing. I don't know if you know or not, the the "500" of your Vicodin is 500 mg of Tylenol that is in that pill. The "5" is the amount of hydrocodone that is in the pill. So, what I am taking has twice the amount of hydrocodone that is in what your are taking. My doctor has told me that I can safely take 3 a day. So, if you followed those rules, yes, you can safely take 2 a day for a couple of days.

Please don't worry about getting "hooked" on Vicodin by taking only 2 a day for a couple of days. You can take 2 a day for 2 or 3 weeks before you would have to worry. Even then, you would not be hooked on them, but your doctor may want to to cut down gradually ... like going to 1 a day for a few days, then 1/2 tablet a day for a few days before quitting altogether.

If you really want to know a professional's opinion, you could always call your local pharmacist, and he would tell you for sure, or you could call your doctor. However, you doctor probably put how many he wanted you to take on your instructions on the prescription pill bottle.