Warm pool aqua therapy? Anyone done this?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by RedHeadEMT, Dec 6, 2006.

1. RedHeadEMT

RedHeadEMT New Member

In case some of ya'all haven't read one of my other posts in which I mention this...

About three months ago, I was involved in a pretty terrible accident. I'm an EMT and was driving the ambulance, responding to a call. We were going thru an intersection, turning left on a green light when a semi-truck rammed into us.

Since then I have had nothing but terrible back/neck problems. I have been to PT, but they have said that they can't do anything but ultrasound and TENS unit therapy, as my muscles are so misaligned and tight in knots, that they believe any manipulation will cause more damage.

SO, Worker's comp has FINALLY approved a few sessions of aquatherapy in a warm pool.

Has anyone done this as a form of treatment? Did it help? Or make things worse?

I'm supposed to start soon and I want to go in, knowing what to expect. I'd appreciate any feedback.

Thanks!

K
  2. I haven't tried it, but my dr. keeps mentioning it to me as it is supposed to really help alot. Good luck and let us know how it works out for you.
  3. Lynna62

Lynna62 New Member

Yes, I have done this. It is wonderful. We are all different but it helped me so much that I ended up getting certified as an Aqua Aerobics instructor so that I could do the workouts on my own.

My local Marriott hotel lets me use their indoor pool, spa and exercise room for $40 per month, payable on a month to month basis. They heat the pool to 82 degrees which is not optimal (it could be warmer!) but it is warm enough that I am able to get in and work out. Some days all I am able to do is just water walk but as I'm sure you know, any type of exercise we are able to tolerate is worthwhile.

I would encourage you to give it a try, just make sure they know about all of your health issues and don't let them push you too hard or too fast.