Was Lyme in CA in the 1970s?

Discussion in 'Lyme Disease Archives' started by Pwr2Heal, Sep 25, 2007.

1. Pwr2Heal

Pwr2Heal New Member

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting here. I hope this isn't a totally foolish question!

I went on a Girl Scout camping trip in the early 70s when I was 8 or 9 in northern California and woke up one morning with a tick stuck in the top of my head. They removed the tick and supposedly all was fine. I don't recall whether I had any immediate symptoms or not. If I did, I'm sure we would not have connected it to the tick bite.

I've had low energy since I was at least 10 years old. Also a low body temp and low blood pressure. I also had huge swollen lymph nodes until my early 20s, but my mother says I had those from the time I was 3 when I had a very positive TB test. I didn't get sick much as a kid, but I did have a spell of recurrent bronchitis for a few years (age 14 to 16). One case of the flu when I was 23 which took me well over a month to recover from. I also had a certain amount of post-exertional malaise from the time I was at least 10.

When I became pregnant 8 years ago my health took a serious downward turn: severe fatigue, sleep disruptions, serious GI tract issues (diarrhea for 6 weeks straight shortly after the birth of my son, never returned to normal), and recurrent miscarriages (10 miscarriages in all).

I've recently been diagnosed with CFS, mild FM, reactivated viruses (3 identified) and bacterial infections (2 identified). I did 6 weeks of Clindamycin and Macrodantin, followed by 3 months of Zith, Rifampin & Flagyl. I had HUGE, intense die-off reactions on these antibiotics. I am currently on Valtrex but am not having much reaction yet (only on it 2.5 weeks so far).