Welcome from Iowa

Discussion in 'Caregivers' started by linnie, Mar 21, 2002.

1. linnie

linnie New Member

Hi, Caregivers,
    I just wanted to say hello and to let each of you know that I truely respect and admire you. I am a nurse aide by profession, and I know what it is to be a caregiver. But, I have the easy part, I can leave and go home after eight hours. To all of you who cannot I just want you to know that I sympathize with all you must bear. I would do it in a second if it was my family member or loved one. I deal in all kinds of situations at work. I know what it is like to feel helpless when you watch a resident, a friend, or a loved one be in so much pain, or confusion. I held hands with residents as they left this world, and hoped I helped them cross over into the new world. I helped dress residents when they were suffering from alzheimers and they didn't know what I was doing. I wiped tears from residents eyes as they talked about losing their home and yet smiling as they shared their memories. Each day I learn something from one of my residents. They are so wise and have been through alot. I also watched families who come to visit their loved ones and the resident didn't recognize them. I can only imagine the hurt the family must of felt. I knew of a woman effected with alzheimers who slapped her daughter and cussed her out with such foul laungage. The daughter was so hurt, she was in tears. Not so much from the slap but seeing her mother like that. She said her mother had been a very religious woman before the alzheimers set in, and she would of given the shirt off her back to anyone who needed it. Oh! the grief the daughter had to of felt. But, it was not the womans fault either because it was the disease of alzheimers that effected her. I've laughed, and cried, felt joy, and endured sorrow and grief and I am only there for 8 hours. I am sorry for writing a book here, but, I just wanted to share how I felt and to tell you that I admire and respec