Well, I am coming "out of the closet" more at work

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by EllenComstock, Sep 26, 2003.

1. EllenComstock

EllenComstock New Member

Hi, Everyone:

I am going to start acupuncture treatments next week for my FM. I know people have had mixed results from this treatment, but I figure at this point I have nothing to lose. I am fortunate in that my insurance will cover it only because the doctor's office is going to bill it as "injections" and not "acupuncture". I do feel it is being kind of deceitful, but at this point I guess I really don't care. We all know how much pain we are in and how desperate we are for any relief. I go once a week for six weeks. My husband is going to drive me since the doctor's office is an hour away and I am still trying to work full-time.

I work as a secretary for a small college in Michigan and really like my job here. I decided to be upfront and honest about why I need to take some time off each week so I told them I was going for weekly pain treatments. I figured that anyone who was interested would ask me more about it. So far two people have and they were both understanding about it. The one had heard of FM, the other had not.

I am finding it a little scary to tell people the truth about what I have been going through (only a few people here know-mainly other secretaries I am friends with). But I figure since I don't miss very much time that no one should question if I can do my job or not. I do feel that unless I improve that eventually I will apply for disability. I am currently also on the guaifenesin program so am hopeful that in time this will also help.

Sorry this is a little long, but just needed someone to talk to who really understands.

Ellen
  2. catgal

catgal New Member