Were's the heroism for CFS?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by beans, Nov 15, 2002.

1. beans

beans New Member

struggle daily with CFS and for many years I have lived this skeleton like life.
    I am a veteran now.

I have mostly learned to take one day at a time.
    I do just enough of every thing to get by .
    I take care of the most pressing of family needs each day.

The days I do not take care of pressing needs every thing piles up.
    Some days are a greater struggle in my mind when I am well enough to do some thing
    I enjoy doing and throw all caution to the wind and do it.

I then suffer for it not in body and mind. Then in my mind.
    Because the things I left behind that needed done the noticeable things
    nag at my mind and so my inner peace is disturbed.

It takes longer to get caught up.

I struggle greatly on days I have to clean house and do laundry so much energy has to be forced out of my body
    and these things do not make my mental being happy and complete.
    They are just endless energy zapping chores.

My days are slow .
    But I am positive and happy most often.
    I find joy in simple quiet peaceful things.

I endure with out help of most friends.
    I may get a phone call from time to time.
    But usually only from the same friend.

But rarely any other kind of emotional support.

At first friends wanted to know the diagnoses .
    Then they wanted to give me advise on how to heal my self.
    Then many decided they did all they could and continued on with their busy lives.

From time to time I make a new freind and the same routine seems to happen.
    What is CFS what are you doing for it. etc.

I have friends my age who are very sick one has cancer and other illness's that you go to the hospital for.
    One terminal and the other not.

These girls are hero's in the eyes of others.
    I feel for them they are truly suffering.
    They never knew real illness until these problems arose.