What about WEIGHT GAIN, am I the only one?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by jstbrznby, Mar 29, 2003.

1. jstbrznby

jstbrznby New Member

As if loosing myself and the pain aren't enough, I have gained so much weight and it happened overnight it seems. I have ridden race horses for a living the better part of my life until I had a neck injury bring my life to a screaching halt. NOW, I have blown up like a heleum balloon, has anyone else had this happen? I try to loose it but I am not having much luck as this whole 'low self esteeem' thing doesn't help. And not having the strength to exzcercise like I want to has created a vicous circle. My Dr. felt I was suffering from depression (to which I was in major denial of looking back on it)I was thin and had gotten even thinner at that point so he put me on Paxil, now I have found out that Paxil defenitly puts the weight on you. And this loosing your identity is a whole other issue, I just can't adjust to being so alone and worthless, if I died tomorrow I don't think any of my friends or family would notice for a long time. Back to my question though, is this weight gain thing part of it or is this just my delima? Really appreciate any ideas on this, and thanks. HUGS to all.......Pam
  2. Hippo

Hippo New Member

I personally do not have this problem. I have a lot of nausea, which keeps my appetite down. However, I used to belong to a CFS/FM support group, and I noticed that the vast majority of participants were significantly overweight. You mentioned that you were an athlete, now you're not. Your eating habits probably haven't changed, even though your activity level has gone into the toilet. My best advice is to consider possibly the Atkins Diet, some of the folks out there can suggest other diets that are healthy and will help you get your weight down. We just can't realistically expect to eat like a "normal" person when we're hardly burning any energy.