What can be done for this DD after 20 years???

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Solstice, Apr 2, 2003.

1. Solstice

Solstice New Member

I am new to this message board. Just recently found this site.

My question is: I wonder if anything significant can be done now that I have had CFIDS and FMS for over 20 years now.

I can trace my illness back to the early 80's. I did not have a diagnosis until '94! So, for almost 15 years, I had no idea what was wrong.

I have read about people who have recovered from these DD, and then I realize they are the people who caught it early. With early treatment there is more likelyhood of good recovery.

My illness has been progressive. The older I get the more symptoms I seem to have. I had to quite work about 6 years ago. I was an elementary school teacher and loved my job.

Like many of you, my life has become very limited. It has affected my friendships, my family life, my self esteem.......everything. Most of the time I do ok with coping. Lately, I have regressed and for several weeks have been too tired to do much of anything, in a fog, and in pain. Whenever I regress like this I think "OK, there has got to be something new out there that I can do." But I have tried just about everything.

The only thing I have not done is quifinisin (sp?). Have some of you tried it? I have read the book about it. I am tempted to try it, but would like to know if it would be worth it.........again, for someone who has had this SO long now. How long would it take me to reverse this? Does it work for FMS AND CFIDS?

I feel like I need to start from the beginning again, every time I get this depleted. I have tons of vitamin bottles in my cupboards, and I don't even know where to start. So I am taking nothing now. I need to start anew.

Any ideas from you would be much appreciated!!! Please tell me "an old dog can learn new tricks."! (I am 52. Not that old. But I feel 70) Thanks for any help you can give me.