What does herxing mean?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Hope4Sofia, Feb 10, 2006.

1. Hope4Sofia

Hope4Sofia New Member

I'm still learning.

sofi
  2. jaltair

jaltair New Member

The cause of herxheimers (Jarisch- Herxheimer) is thought to be the result of endotoxin release or the killing off of bacteria through antibiotic use. This term was first used when reaction to treatment for Lyme's came about.

If we are talking about NOT killing off bacteria through antibiotics, then the herx may be a result of the toxin(s) produced or the body's immune response to the invaders. Thus, one can achieve a herx through natural immune response, or with supplements that boost the immune response.

A herx can also happen when you are ill and your body is fighting off critters. That's what happens when you are rottenly ill! Your body through elevated temperature is killing off critters, you feel rotten, have head aches, body aches, general flu-like feelings, etc. Thus, the symptoms of the flu could be considered a "herx." (?)

Just my thoughts, Jeannette
  3. jana15

jana15 New Member

Hi there,

Is herxing the same as a flare up? I'm still learning too.

Thanks Jana
  4. cbs1234

cbs1234 New Member

Those of you on abx or other drugs for your condition. Blaming all problems on "herxing" is dangerous. You need to keep in mind that you might be having a bad reaction to the drug rather than "herxing".
  5. Mikie

Mikie Moderator

If one is truly allergic to a med, there will be obvious symptoms such as a rash, swelling, and/or breathing difficulties. An immune reaction and the ensuing Herxing are different from this. It is important to know the difference but it is also important not to stop taking one's ABX because one is having an immune response and/or is Herxing.