What finally made you decide to file for disability? Anyone.

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by kriket, Sep 22, 2006.

1. kriket

kriket New Member

Was just wondering what finally made those of you on disability decide to make that daring move knowing that it would probably be a great struggle to go through. What triggered you to say Ok, that's it?

kriket
  2. Susan07

Susan07 New Member

I have been pushing myself to keep working for the last 10 years. I had a desk job so thought I could do that forever!

Four years ago my FM kept me home for a week and half - odors sent me over the edge and I was in a lot of pain.

In the past year my arrival at work went from 9am to 11am. I felt exhausted all the time. I was nodding off in the afternoon at work and felt a great deal of stress about driving home - I'd nod off at the red lights!

The past six months I felt so dizzy I thought I was going to pass out and the back pain was getting excruciating. I also started to use a cane at work which was very hard for me to do.

In early June I asked my husband to start driving me to work I just couldn't take it anymore. I gave notice a week later I was filing for disability and worked part-time for 2 months making notes and handing off my responsibilities.

I had this job for 15 years and I can't say I even miss it, even though it was a cush job, because I felt so bad.

Yes the process is a dubious one and it has taken me a month to get everything together and fill in the applications on line. I hope to make copies of the support paperwork next week and deliver with the "release" forms.

When I made the decision I called my doctor first and asked if he would support my decision, which he did.

Good luck!
    Susan
  3. homesheba

homesheba New Member

a compainion for elderly women
    and also cleaning my church
    - all which i really loved...
    but then i started having my 75 year old mother
    having to help me to do simple things