What is the difference

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by mlp1954, Mar 18, 2006.

1. mlp1954

mlp1954 New Member

between Fibro and CFS? I am told I have Fibro, but dont know what CFS is. Do they go hand in hand? What would a short description of both be? I am new to Fibro, or at least to my diagnosis, have had it a very long time I think, just never diagnosed. I have RA too, and that was my diagnosis, but now I know I have Fibro too. Lucky me...
    Pattie
  2. hopeful4

hopeful4 New Member

Hi Pattie,

For many of us, we have both. Some theories are that CFIDS and FM are the same illness, kind of on a continuum.

I was diagnosed with CFIDS in 2000. Last year I was told I "only" had 10 of 18 tender points, therefore didn't have FM. Also, I was diagnosed with chronic Lyme Disease last year, which was the main underlying cause of the CFIDS and FM. The symptoms of the three overlap. Have you been tested for Lyme by a knowledgeable Lyme Literate doctor?

If you go to the Library tab, above, you will find these articles in their entirety, and many other helpful articles.

Symptoms of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome

The Centers for Disease Control (CDC) has established certain criteria for diagnosing Chronic Fatigue Syndrome:

1. Fatigue that is persistent, relapsing or debilitating; does not improve with bed rest; and reduces or impairs average daily activity level by more than 50 percent for a period of at least 6 months. Patient has no previous history of fatigue.

2. The patient has 4 or more of the following symptoms, which must have persisted or recurred during 6 or more consecutive months and predated the fatigue:

Short-term memory or concentration problems
    Sore throat
    Multi-joint pain without joint swelling or redness
    Muscle pain
    Headaches of a new type, pattern or severity
    Non-refreshing sleep
    Post-exertional malaise lasting more than 24 hours

In addition, a number of minor symptoms may also appear:

Poor sleep
    Achiness