What is the pain like?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by reformedgranny, Sep 11, 2003.

1. reformedgranny

reformedgranny New Member

Doctors give me no answers. I have done everything on my own. For 2 1/2 years now I have had nearly constant pain in my legs--almost a cramping, some days very weak. I asked them to check my thyroid--I was hypo. They have treated that, my TSH is now 1.8, being treated with Armour. But I still have the pain and weakness. I also have a thick feeling in my feet, kinda like a numbness and sometimes burning. I have an edema problem--taking 20mg of Furosemide in the evenings and 40mg in the mornings(this I do not like taking), so then I have to take potassium chloride. I have been taking a Benadryl at night to help me sleep so that I can function during the day as I am a Kindergarten teacher. I also have tightness in the muscles in my calves and if I sit any length of time my legs become very stiff. In the mornings I have a very hard time walking right after I get out of bed.
    Does this sound like fibromyalgia? At first I thought it was neuropathy, but now I don't know what to think, esp. with the edema.
    Any insights any of you can give me will be deeply appreciated.
    Thanks!
    Reformedgranny
    [This Message was Edited on 09/11/2003]
  2. Susan07

Susan07 New Member

FM to me is like the worst case of flu, without the fever and never goes away! I started doing Tai Chi in the mornings and it really truly helps me get going. Take care, I'm sure you'll get some good replies.
  3. Shirl

Shirl New Member

HI Reformedgranny, welcome to the board. Some of what you say sounds like FM, especially the cramps in the legs (which are spasms?), the sleep problems, and the problem waking up too.

As for the Edema, I do not have that, but others here do as well as many have a thyroid problem.

What you need is a doctor that is a believe in FM to diagnose you. Sometimes that is not easy to find, as you have already stated.