What should I do when my fibro flares?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by treelady, Sep 9, 2005.

1. treelady

treelady New Member

I am just new to this chat thing, it's my first time.
    I have beeen "put upon" by fibroymalgia and "should upon" by my friends and family for 9 years in that time there have been several major flares (I am in one now) and I don't know what to do to help make it better. My meds don't help. My husband belives that more exercise will cure anything and my friends tell me that I am "thinking about it too much", that isn't helping me, it just makes things worse.
    Does anyone have any suggestions?
    Treelady
  2. achy

achy New Member

Many here can relate to your post. What others "think" doesn't matter. It's what you "know" that matters.

During a flare it's improtant to give in to your body...give it what it needs. Rest, relax, rejuvinate. If you don't, it will just last longer.
    You may try and epsom salt bath.

Mix 3 bottles of Hydrogen Peroxide (yes, three)
    2 cups Epsom Salts or salts of your choice (I like Lavender)
    SOak 20 mins, and be ready to crawl into bed for at least and hour. The peroxide helps open your pores and the salts relax and soothe the muscle. IT WORKS.

Give family/friends time to accept your illness. IT's taken you time hasn't it?? My story of family support.....
    My mother won't discuss it, she changes the subject

My sis (my best friend) has been an RN for 30yrs. She is now w/hospice. When I told her about my FM diagnosis she said 1/2 her staff had it and were gettinng better w/accupuncture, etc.... A yr later I started pain mgt and taking narcotics. My sis & mother pitched a fit!!

I was so hurt..figured if ANYBODY understood she would.
    Long story short....In January she started getting FM symptoms & found out her spine as ijuries from accident(but not as bad as mine). In April they told her "there was nothing they could do". She is now in pain mgt.....And she UNDERSTANDS!!