What works (if anything) for severe muscle cramps?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Saoirse3, Feb 27, 2011.

1. Saoirse3

Saoirse3 Member

Lately I have been getting muscle cramps so severe that I just start crying because of the pain. It feels like the muscle is actually "pulling up and tightening" and I can't get it to release or relax. Any of the muscle "rubs" like menthol, camphor or (heaven forbid, capsaicin almost burned a hole in my skin!) don't work, and even with Ambien and Osteo-BiFlex I still wake up in the night, unable to sleep because of pain.

Another MAJOR problem is that I am a pilot. Strong pain killers are NOT an option (even though I am not flying passengers, getting a severe cramp at 4,000 feet in a two seater Cessna is NOT where I want to be when fighting Alaska crosswinds!)

Thanks for all your help!

2. mbofov

mbofov Active Member

Stacey - muscle cramps can be a sign of potassium or magnesium deficiency. And with these dd, magnesium deficiency is all too common. But both deficiencies are easily remedied. You could try eating a banana which would help with a postassium deficiency. And of course there are potassium and magnesium supplements.

Do you drink a lot of soda? That can contribute to a potassium deficiency.

The cramps could be caused by other things of course, but I would check these two things out if you haven't already.

3. elliespad

elliespad Member

If you mean the "charlie horse" type, I go take a "big squeeze" of liquid minerals, in a small glass of water. The brands I use are ConcenTrace®Ionic Trace Mineral Drops or Trace Liquid Minerals from a popular vitamin shoppe chain, wink, wink. Ends the charlie horse right away and doesn't come back during the night.
  4. ellikers

ellikers New Member