What're my options?New RA Diagnosis work too DEMANDING

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by ddaj1, Oct 22, 2006.

1. ddaj1

ddaj1 New Member

I am a 52 YO nurse working in a Float Pool, who was diagnosed w/ RA 7 weeks ago. I informed my boss, a huge hospital in central Ca, that the only place I had problems working at was the ER, because there are really no chairs for the nurses to use the entire shift. Last week, she took special care to send me to the exact place I physically was unable to tolerate. In the middle of the shift,I told her I was hurting a lot, and she said," Be sure to take your break." I was not even needed there that day, as I was on orientation. I got the feeling I was being given a lesson, "No one can pick where they work when they are in the Float Pool!" Another comment was something like, "I guess you'll have to fid another job if you have limitations."As someone with RA, am I allowed some flexability by the American's with Disability Law? I needed two whole days to recover, and am petrified I'm going to be sent back again. Any input?
  2. caffey

caffey New Member

May I suggest you post on the arthritis board. Most of us have ra and would love to help you. I am a nurse so I undertand completely where you are coming from. Unfortunately I am not from the US so I can't help you with legal issues. There are people on the arthritis board who know this stuff and can probably help you. I was so fortunate when I was working , they were so supportive and accomodating. Actually it is 3 years now since I have worked and I am still considered a member of the staff and said if I ever get well enough to come back all I need is a doctors note. Wish all employers were like that. All the best. Will look for you on the other board.
    Cath
  3. BethM

BethM New Member

you might want to talk to a lawyer who specializes in disability, to get some hard facts about your rights.