Wheel Chair or Skooter

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Rosesark, Dec 28, 2002.

1. Rosesark

Rosesark New Member

I do have a question: Does anyone here have to use a wheel chair or skooter? and has your insurance helped with the cost? Guess that's 2 questions!! I do have to use a wheel chair to go to the mall as my legs get too weak if i have to walk a distance and i always have to use the motor carts at the grocery store. If i do get stubborn and walk, i will pay for it by the end of the day and sometimes for a few days after. I would like to have my own skooter since there are a lot of times that all the carts are taken at the stores and i will have to wait at the front till one is brought back. I know they are expensive and since i am new to this, i am not familar with all the insurance assistance or the dissability issues. I did have to quit working in june. I could not even do a 4 hour shift. today, i am having a very weak and painful day, and had to use the wheel chair, but my arms kept giving out and i had to keep stopping and resting before i could go on. Hope you all are having a better day. Rose
  2. teach6

teach6 New Member

First let me welcome you to the board. I purchased a scooter last fall because I have neurally Mediated Hypotension, along with my CFS and FM. The NMH makes it difficult for me to stand more than a few minutes at a time. As the day wears on the time I can stand decreases. This is all due to a dysfunctional autonomic nervous system.

I was also using the electric carts in the stores where they are provided, which is really only three around here, my grocery, Home Depot and Target. I know what you mean about there not always being one to use though.

I can't walk far enough to really shop at all without one. I also had a great deal of difficulty walking my dog. Due to my FM I am unable to push myself in a wheelchair, so that was not an option for me.