Where do you buy your blue jeans?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by TwinMa, Apr 19, 2008.

1. TwinMa

TwinMa New Member

It's that dreaded time again. Time to shop for jeans. It isn't quite as bad as swim suit shopping, but almost.

I've been wearing el cheapo $8 jeans from Wal-Mart for quite a few years. I have to confess, they have the old lady elastic waistbands. It's comfortable and I don't tuck anything in. They are baggy as heck because I like comfort. I would most definitely get laughed at by "What NOT to Wear".

So I'm finally ready to try for an upgrade. Here is my problem (besides a total lack of fashion sense). I have a pretty long rise. If I have the term right, that is the distance between the waist and the crotch. Most jeans ride up on me and I don't like walking around with a permanent wedgie. It's usually worse when I sit.

I'm 5'6 1/2" and weight around 125 lbs. I'm on the slender side, but have a pretty good size caboose. I've never found Levi's or Lee's that fit.

Where do you guys buy your jeans and how much am I looking at? I welcome all suggestions on where to buy, and possibilities on a brand that might fit my body type. Thanks!
  2. Rafiki

Rafiki New Member

I live in jeans and I'm near enough the same height and weight as you and share the same "rise" issue.

Believe it or not, given the hideous riding up thing (NO!!!), you want a medium low rise jean. The band should be just above your hip bones and no higher.

Jeans that sit at the waist hike up, cut into the tummy when you sit and are all around a pain in the caboose.

Jeans with a low rise and a little stretch are fantastic but, even without the stretch, the low rise makes a world of difference. I could sleep in my jeans, they are so comfy but I cannot even sit in a pair of high rise jeans.

Of course, if you're over 40, you might need longer tops :~)

Enjoy comfy jeans, they are a wonderful thing!

3. Granniluvsu

Granniluvsu Well-Known Member

Twin and all,