Which whey?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by TwinMa, Oct 11, 2008.

1. TwinMa

TwinMa New Member

For those of you who use whey protein powder, which one do you use?

I've been using Jarrow Whey Protein for several years. I add a scoop to my morning shake. It supplies amino acids and is supposed to be good for the immune system (along with other benefits). I couldn't do without my shake in the morning.

I thought I might try a different brand just to see if I got any added benefits, but there are a million brands out there! I walked into a vitamin store today and the entire back wall was whey protein powders.

If you use whey, which one do you use and are you happy with it?

[This Message was Edited on 10/11/2008]
  2. Mikie

Mikie Moderator

One is simply a protein shake.

The one which is so helpful for improving glutathione is the undenatured whey sold here. I have used the ImmunPlex for years. It should not be mixed with anything but water or milk or it could lose its benefits.

Love, Mikie
  3. cordy250

cordy250 Member

just make sure that the mik or whey powder is not of chinese origin. Too many of their products are contaminated with melamine.
  4. redhummingbird

redhummingbird New Member

That a whey! :)

I agree with what Mikie said.
  5. TwinMa

TwinMa New Member

Aren't they pretty much two different things with different benefits?

Undenatured whey (like the Immunplex sold here at ProHealth) is to increase glutathione levels for improved immune function and detoxification. It should be mixed in water or milk and should be taken at least 30 minutes before eating in the morning.

Regular whey protein (like the Jarrow) can be mixed in a smoothie/shake to get protein into the diet and is good for the digestive tract as well as the immune system. Some claim it also has anti-cancer properties.

At this time, I am looking for the kind of whey you just toss into a shake.