who knows about Lexapro?

Discussion in 'General Health & Wellness' started by patticheeky, Jun 3, 2003.

1. patticheeky

patticheeky New Member

Just started on 10 mg of lexapro a day after 12 years of prozac. what's up?
  2. AQUAMARINE

AQUAMARINE New Member

hi-
    I'm certainly no expert on it, but I take it. I was taking it's relative celexa for 2 yrs., then they invented lexapro which is celexa refined - much more pure so you only have to take 10mg. instead of 20.It ios in thr same family as Prozac but since it is the latest, it should be impoved.it is supposed to be so pure, wtihout addatives that it is less apt to have side efects.
    I have a hard time with all medications, but this was one of the few I could handle. It was prescibed because of depression + OCD type round and round behavior. I think it works well, though I have noticed I am more apt to keep shaking my leg or jumping around.
  3. joolup

joolup New Member

I've been on Lexapro for 6 months. It's my first try at antidepressants and I needed relief primarily from anxiety. I was feeling spacy and disoriented relating to job loss and general self esteem issues.
    The lexapro has been helpful. I am less anxious, more alert, and it seems to help me control my "worrisome" mind. It took my body a time to get used to the drug. It has some side effects on me: I'm a bit wired, difficult in falling asleep, slight tremor in my pinkey; some sexual side effects.
    I hope to be off it in a few months.
    The 10 mg dose is easier on the liver. Hope this helps.

4. CatMeow

CatMeow New Member