Who takes Bextra?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Bonnette, Sep 12, 2003.

1. Bonnette

Bonnette New Member

I am curious to see who takes Bextra for FMS. I know it has been prescribed for people with rheumotoid arthritis. I
    take one pill twice a day on a regular basis. I also take Ultracet as needed. The last time I went to the doctor he fussed at me for not taking two Ultracets at one time. He said it's better to take two pills when the pain begins instead of waiting to your pain is more intense. He believes more in pain control. But I have never taken any medication in my life until I was diagnosed with FMS. Now I take Bextra, Ultracet, Paxil and Ambien for sleep. Does anyone else take similar medication? I am new at the message board so I hope my messages aren't to long. i tend to "ramble". Thanks!
  2. catgal

catgal New Member

Hi Bonnette~~I am 54 and have had FM/CFS since my teens. I also have arthritis, advanced degenerative disc disease, IBS, severe asthma/allergies, and psoriasis.

After trying most all the other anti-inflammatory medications that either did not work or had bad side affects, I started taking Bextra over a year ago for the degenerative disc disease and found it to be a blessing. Since FM is not an inflammatory disease, I don't know how well it works on FM alone. I just know that it helps me to feel less achy all over my body.

I understand how you feel about taking so many medications. Until I was diagnosed with advanced degenerative disc disease, I only took meds as needed. However, now I take oxycontin 3x's a day; percocet 3x's a day; soma 3x's a day; bextra 2x's a day, and klonopin at night for restless legs & sleep.