Why am I hungry all the time, and mostly for SWEETS??

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by PepperGirl52, Apr 17, 2006.

1. PepperGirl52

PepperGirl52 New Member

When I first 'came down' with this ugly disease (fibro), I was so sick that I lost over 13 pounds in just a few months. I had no idea what was wrong with me, I just couldn't eat, every time I ate I had to run to the bathroom, and all I wanted to do was sleep! Besides all the pain, of course.

Well, now that I am 'better', have been diagnosed, am on a treatment regime, I am hungry all the time! I feel like I just can't get enough EVER! I haven't gained a lot-6 or so pounds-but I fear the inevitable will be just around the corner! And with a crummy spine, I can't afford to be heavy-my back will suffer even more than it does now.

So, any theories? I am wondering if it's the anti-depressants, the fact that I AM feeling better, low blood sugar, I don't know. I'm a nurse, but I just can't figure out myself the way I could figure out others. I also worry about bringing on Type 2 diabetes with all the sugar consumption.

So, any thoughts, ideas, theories or advice would be GREATLY appreciated! THANKS! PG PS I do exercise daily-walking, and in the summer I swim.
  2. Lolalee

Lolalee New Member

Sounds like you might be having a side-effect from meds. Some anti-depressants and sleep meds (and other meds) cause cravings for sweets and other carbs.

Try to curb that sweet tooth with fruit, if you can.

Good luck,

Lolalee
  3. hot-tubgirl

hot-tubgirl New Member

i crave sweets too. It could be the meds. But also - there was an article in the latest Fibromyalgia Network Newsletter about sleep problems and weight gain. If you are not getting restorative sleep - a problem for most of us, you have difficulty losing weight. Your body thinks it's in crisis and needs energy, so you crave sweets. Insideous, isn't it??????
  4. Jeanne-in-Canada

Jeanne-in-Canada New Member