Why am I so tired in the morning and then get energy at night?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia and ME & Chronic Fatigue Syndrome' started by shadygap, Apr 12, 2004.

1. shadygap

shadygap New Member

I feel like a baby that has their days and nights reversed. I can barely crawl out of bed in the morning. I am a teacher and I can hardly keep from yawning through all my morning classes. In the afternoon I am also tired and I sometimes can barely stay awake to drive home. Then about 9 at night when I should be going to sleep I start to wake a little bit. This is so different from my typical self. I have always been an early to bed, early to rise person. I was always at my best in the mornings and did start to wear down in the afternoon and ready to sleep at night but now it so different. All day I am exhausted..then for about 2 hours at night.beginning at 8 or 9..I have some energy and then of course I don't sleep well either anymore. Why the change in my pattern?
  2. LottieWilkins

LottieWilkins New Member

I have similar shifts. Used to be able to do my best work/thinking in the morning. Now it's hours before my brain kicks in, sometimes in some regular pattern, sometimes at random. I've learned to just take it easy during the "down" times, and gently use the "up" ones. This has enabled me to continue full-time work (including research, and academic and technical writing).

Just wanted to let you know you're not alone in the pattern change. There may be a specific reason for it; or it may be one of those lovely, nebulous "features" of this bizarre illness.

Best,
    - Lottie
  3. neen85

neen85 New Member