Woman's Day FIBROMYALGIA CHILDREN (and you) Aug 1 2008

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by sleepyinlalaland, Jun 28, 2008.

1. sleepyinlalaland

sleepyinlalaland New Member

I think this is a FIRST, especially for a MAINSTREAM magazine. This issue may not be on newstands yet, I have a subscription and just received it in the mail.

An article on page 70 titled LIVING IN PAIN, chronicles a mother and her teen (pre-teen?) daughter who both are diagnosed with fibromyalgia. Also alludes to the mother's challenging quest to get SSI based on her condition.

In the end, they mention LYRICA as being helpful for coping, but do not suggest that it is "THE answer". Despite that, I was VERY grateful to see this article because it is rare enough to see some public validity for FM, but rarer still to see articles in any major publication that helps to verify that the symptoms are ALSO seen in our offspring (as in the cse for me).

Major KUDOS to Woman's Day!!!!!!
  2. sleepyinlalaland

No, it does NOT discuss at all what may be the root cause.

To know that "root cause" is surely the HOLY GRAIL, and I'd be first in line to sacrifice my life if I felt I could promote a discovery and cure that could help my offspring.

I am also the first one to dismiss the most commonly published articles on FMS...in which someone finds a "cure" and lives happily-ever-after. Bleahhh to them!

This article came CLOSE...but it did not really go there. Both the daughter and mother had TENTATIVELY found a way to carry on (job /school) but surely not an ANSWER. Both mom and daughter take about 22 pills per day to cope with their altered health conditions. Even at articles conclusion, the mom is concerned about daughter's future...she manages school only by being homeschooled, which is hardly an option for most working parents and less so for a single parent. And the mother changes careers, hardly an easy option either.