wondering if anyone with FM has abnormal lab tests such as ANA

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by camry, Oct 3, 2002.

1. camry

camry New Member

I was told for years that I couldn't have FM because I have a very high ANA (antinuclear antibodies) and also thyroid antibodies, although my TSH (thyroid stimulating hormone) is normal. Last year I was finally diagnosed with FM. The rheumatologist told me that they're now finding out that you can very well have FM with abnormal labs. It would be interesting to know if there's an underlying thyroid problem or some type of auto immune disorder in people with FM. I'm very new to this message board and haven't come across anyone mentioning a high ANA, etc, yet. I would appreciate anyone sharing this info with me if it relates to you. Thanks for taking the time to read this. Camry
  2. camry

camry New Member

I was told for years that I couldn't have FM because I have a very high ANA (antinuclear antibodies) and also thyroid antibodies, although my TSH (thyroid stimulating hormone) is normal. Last year I was finally diagnosed with FM. The rheumatologist told me that they're now finding out that you can very well have FM with abnormal labs. It would be interesting to know if there's an underlying thyroid problem or some type of auto immune disorder in people with FM. I'm very new to this message board and haven't come across anyone mentioning a high ANA, etc, yet. I would appreciate anyone sharing this info with me if it relates to you. Thanks for taking the time to read this. Camry
  3. JP

JP New Member

Hello Camry,