wondering if TICKET TO WORK or another agency could be helpful

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by sleepyinlalaland, Mar 18, 2010.

1. sleepyinlalaland

sleepyinlalaland New Member

HI, I'm not a newbie but have not posted anything in a LONG time.

I have some questions about SS disability's "ticket to work" program but am paranoid about contacting them at all. I guess I worry that if I indicate to them that I am ready to work at all (part-time), that they will try to line me up with a position as a doorstop at Walmart. No offence to Walmart workers, like all honest work it is honorable, but I know I could not take the lights, noise and any uncertainty in my schedule that would form the environment of any big department store.

I am thinking about a very small-scale errand service. I do small chores and errands now for several friends who absolutely cannot get out nor drive and I gladly do them for free, as these friends have helped me enormously in the past. But it has occured to me that I CAN do these simple things for others who can afford to pay for them. I can do light household chores, sewing/mending, cook soups, shop for necessities and am a very good chauffeur. I also happen to live in an area with many up-scale seniors and retirees.

I'm NOT a very good organizer and that is why I'd like to confer with a service that may help me structure a very simple plan. I would NEVER try to make this a big deal, (I know I couldln't handle that), but feel I could make a comfortable difference in my monthly income.

Does anyone know if SSD has any services that may be useful for me in that area? Does "ticket" help one with self-employment plans, or only with gaining employment. I am a (young!) senior citizen and I also get disability. It is vitally important to me to be able to control my schedule and to keep it small.
  2. victoria

victoria New Member

Sounds like a great idea... but I don't have any idea.