work related issues....

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by spazmonkey, Jun 20, 2003.

1. spazmonkey

spazmonkey New Member

i might be paranoid but i dont know how to handle this. My boss just made a comment to me regarding my memory and that I should do something about it, he says "my god i'm old so i have an excuse, your only 25!"
    Now, im a graphic designer and this is the first job that i dont get too stressed out about, but i do have alot of little things to remember (it would be hard for a normal person to remember).
    Is there something i should do...im afraid that one day they can fire me for this even if I can perform my job.
    I mean, should i tell my boss what is going on with my memory or should i just shrug it off...
    Sometime I feel like if I tell someone, they're jsut like whatta hypochondriac!

Please help!
  2. Annette2

Annette2 New Member

I have a job too and need to remember a lot of little things too. I WILL NEVER use FMS as an excuse. You are there to do a job and it doesn't matter why you don't remember things - it is up to you to work this out yourself. I apologize if I seem harsh - it's just that basically, they won't care WHY you don't remember things - they just want you to do your job properly. So - I make notes. I either put little post-it notes on my computer screen and/or have a piece of paper that says "Information" on it, and as I need to I jot things down. Eventually I remember the things I need to do most often. The things I need to remember occasionally I still look up. If you ever are let go, it won't be because you have FMS, it'll be because you didn't perform your job properly. Again, please don't think I'm being harsh - I believe I'm just being realistic. I hope this helps you. Just write things down and try not to stress out too much - that'll make things worse. GOOD LUCK!!!!
  3. Dara

Dara New Member